filtered by Entity Type: Authority
The County was formed in 1858 from parts of Russell County and Tazewell County. It was named for James Buchanan, the 15th President of the United States. Its County seat is Grundy.
Established in 1975 by an act of the Virginia General Assembly, the Capital Region Airport Commission owns and operates Richmond International Airport (RIC). The Commission directs the growth, operation and business activities of RIC and works tirelessly to ensure it continues to be an affordable option for local, regional and out-of-state travelers.
Dinwiddie Airport is administered by the Dinwiddie Airport and Industrial Authority, (DAIA). The Authority is enabled by the Virginia General Assembly and is empowered to perform all actions necessary to operate the airfield.
The Frederick-Winchester Service Authority was created in 1974 by action taken by the City and the County. The Authority is a public body existing under the provisions of the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act that is part of the Code of Virginia (1950) as amended.
The Commission was formed on June 29, 1999, to effect the merger of the Peninsula Transportation District Commission and the Tidewater Transportation District Commission effective October 1, 1999. The Commission was established in accordance with Chapter 45 of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended, commonly referred to as the Transportation District Act of 1964, and by ordinances as adopted by the governing bodies of its component governments. The Commission provides public transpo...
Brunswick, Dinwiddie, and Mecklenburg Counties created the Jail Authority and on April 3, 2008, the counties entered into a Service Agreement with the Jail Authority. The Jail Authority is constituted pursuant to Section 53.1-95.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, as amended.
Norfolk International Airport is operated by the Norfolk Airport Authority. The Norfolk Airport Authority is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is an independent autonomous agency of the City of Norfolk. The Authority is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of up to nine members appointed by Norfolk City Council for four-year terms, and an Executive Director overseeing day-to-day operations.
RMA was created in March 1966 by an Act of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia for the initial purpose of constructing and operating a toll expressway system to serve the Richmond metropolitan area. In 1973, the Act was amended to authorize the Authority to provide vehicular parking facilities for the Richmond metropolitan area. An additional amendment in 1984 authorized RMA to acquire land, construct, and own a baseball stadium, and to lease such land, stadium, and attendant faci...
The Virginia Highlands Airport Authority is a component unit of Washington County, Virginia. Established in 1965, VHAA is organized to build, maintain and operate the airport located in Abingdon, Virginia.
The Authority was formed by the Council of the City of Roanoke and the Board of Supervisors of the County of Roanoke on July 1, 2004 as a regional water authority to establish and operate water and sewer disposal systems and related facilities. The Authority was chartered in 2004 pursuant to the Virginia Water and Waster Authorities Act, Chapter 51 title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, 1950 as amended.
Home » Projects » Borrowers » Authority